Latest

Josh Lalor Catch

Josh Lalor

Did you see the Josh Lalor catch the whole world is talking about? Josh Lalor who was stationed at the boundary line caught the ball in controversial manner  hit by Stars captain Cameron White which seemed to be going all the way for a six.

Josh Lalor realised that he couldn’t balance himself, so he threw the ball in the air, went past the ropes and then jumped back in to complete the catch.

If you missed it you can watch the video and decide whether its out or not out.

The Catch is however legal as the rules were changed in October 2013 to allow such catches as stated below.

Clause ‘19.4 states is reproduced as below:

19.4.  Ball beyond the boundary

After it has crossed the boundary in the air, a ball may be caught, subject to the provisions of Law 32, or fielded provided that    

(i)    the first contact with the ball is by a fielder, not touching or grounded beyond the boundary, who has some part of his person grounded within the boundary or whose final contact with the ground before touching the ball was entirely within the boundary.

Any fielder subsequently touching the ball is not subject to this restriction.   

(ii)    neither the ball, nor any fielder in contact with the ball touches, or is grounded beyond, the boundary at any time during the act of making the catch or of fielding the ball.

The act of making the catch, or of fielding the ball, shall start from the time when the ball first comes into contact with some part of a fielder’s person and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control both over the ball and over his own movement.